• Upcoming Events
  • Past Events
  • Public Events
My Events
View and edit your current events.
Add Event

Click the "add event" button to create a listing for your event

Advertise Here

Topic: You gradually develop of sixth sense....

Messages (1) Visitors (909)

antoniamitchell
Member since 08/22/2011
You gradually develop of sixth sense....
09/19/2011 / 10:10 am    #1

Unwired talks to Mark Thomas (Chief Executive, Word Association)

What are the biggest challenges you've faced in implementing home working strategies?

I've been managing a home-based business for over 10 years now. Initially the challenges were to do with technology but things have moved on so much that it's just not an issue anymore. In recent years it's been more about recruitment and management. Not everyone is suited to home working and you gradually develop a sixth sense as to the people who will work best from home. In terms of management you need to make more of an effort to communicate and get people together. It also forces you to develop performance indicators around output rather than time served in the office.

What are your top tips for anyone just beginning to plan/implement a homeworking strategy?

Trust people. You will be pleasantly surprised that most people will embrace the opportunity, work harder and be more productive.

In your experience, what was the most effective convincer to get management staff to embrace workplace change and homeworking?

Cost savings achieved by not needing office space. This will be an even bigger 'convincer' in these times of cut-backs.

What lessons have you learned? What do you know now that you wish you'd known then?